Skip to content

Mix It Up Monday: Cook’s Country Chicken Riggies

November 5, 2012

I got this recipe in my inbox from my Cook’s Country newsletter.  I liked the idea of it and have had it on my To Try list for quite a while.  This was delayed somewhat by my not being able to find cherry peppers (which I hadn’t even heard of).  Ultimately found some at Kroger and gave this a whirl.  I made a few substitutions–changing out the chicken breasts for chicken thighs, using roasted red peppers instead of raw red peppers, using gluten free pasta, and swapping fat free half and half for the cream.  The end result made a TON–I’d say 6 servings.

Hubs and I were both kind of meh on it.  Me because I discovered I do NOT like kalamata olives AT ALL.  Hubs…well sometimes I’m not sure what he doesn’t like about stuff.   Either way, it won’t be going on our rotation.  I did at least discover I like cherry peppers!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 7, 2012 9:03 am

    Chicken riggies! They were ‘created’ here in Utica, NY (it’s what we’re kind of famous for. Like Buffalo, NY is for their buffalo wings, we’re known for riggies. We even have a Riggie-fest every year! :D ). Anyways, the recipe I use makes a smooth sauce except for the cherry peppers and a few jalapenos-I hate chunks of things in sauce (and no olives cause I don’t like those either!). We cook it on low all day in a crock pot (usually). If you want to try a different version of this recipe, I can send it to you!

    • November 7, 2012 9:05 am

      Oh yes please! I think it was the olives I didn’t like–everything else was tasty!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,854 other followers