Skip to content

Thoughtless Thursday: Unconventional Chalupas

February 4, 2010

I don’t know about you, but when I hear the word “chalupa”, I think Taco Bell.  I’ve never actually had a chalupa from Taco Bell, but I have vague memories of commercials that involved some kind of flat bread or shell or something.  Anyway, a friend of mine suggested a recipe from The Fix It And Forget It Cookbook. But me being me, I had to adapt to what I had on hand.  I’m not a pinto bean fan, so I swapped those out for black beans.  I had diced peppers from last year’s garden in the freezer.  And rather than just plain water, I thought it would be nice to throw in a beer and some chicken stock.  The original recipe is for a 3 pound roast.  As I only had one half that size, I wanted to half the recipe.  I actually forgot to half the spices and the peppers, but the extra flavor was actually a bonus.  The end result was spicy and delicious and very reasonable calorically with 4 servings at 396.5 calories and 7.3 grams of fat per serving.  Actually, if you count the beer and chicken stock it’s 423 calories, but I drained the juice off, so it seems like it shouldn’t count.   I served this up on whole wheat tortillas with cheddar cheese, sour cream, and salsa.  It’s a really great dish to make ahead of time and reheat when you’re ready.

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 pound pork roast
  • 1 beer (I used Michelob Ultra)
  • 2 cups or 1 can of black beans, drained
  • 1 cup chicken broth
  • 1 Tablespoon oregano (Mexican if you can find it)
  • 1 Tablespoon cumin
  • 2 Tablespoons chili powder
  • 1/2 cup diced green chilis

Directions:

  1. Add all ingredients to the crock pot.
  2. Give it a little stir.
  3. Cook on low for 8 hours.
  4. Remove the roast from the crock and shred the meat.
  5. Add the meat back to the crock and mix well.

Printable version.

This recipe on Tasty Planner.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

