Skip to content

Quick Roasted Asparagus

July 23, 2010

One of the best summer veggies is baby asparagus.  That lovely, thin as a pencil variety, tender green and sweet.  Asparagus is one of those foods I thought I hated.  It turned out I just hate how my mom fixes it.  She uses the canned stuff that’s slimy and thick and noxious.  :shudder:  That shouldn’t be considered a food.  And the few times she’s had fresh asparagus she didn’t know you’re supposed to snap off the bottom woody part.  But I know.  And now you know (if you didn’t already), and you’re going to enjoy the end result.

Ingredients:

  • fresh summer asparagus
  • olive oil
  • seasoning of choice (I like Emeril’s Essence)

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 450 degrees.
  2. Snap each piece of asparagus to wherever it naturally breaks.
  3. Drizzle with olive oil.
  4. Toss to coat.
  5. Sprinkle with seasoning.
  6. Toss to coat.
  7. Roast for 5 minutes.

Printable version.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. christel42 permalink
    July 23, 2010 12:30 pm

    Asparagus is my favorite veggie, and this is my most scrumptcious way to serve them. I often pair them with a burger, like French fries, only healthier!

    • Kait Nolan permalink
      July 23, 2010 12:52 pm

      Ha, I don’t think I could ever let these take the place of fries, but they are tasty.😀

Leave a Reply

