Skip to content

Beef and Mushroom Stir Fry

May 18, 2011

Over the weekend I hit up our local Asian Market.  I love this place.  Seriously.  They have some unique produce and fabulous prices.  One of the things I found were some marvelous fresh oyster mushrooms.  I simply HAD to make a stir fry centered around them.  OMG, SO GOOD.  Serves 2.

Ingredients:

  • 2 Tbsp canola oil
  • 2 cups oyster mushrooms, roughly chopped
  • 10 oz. London broil, sliced on the bias into 1 to 1.5 inch strips
  • 1/2 cup of scallions, sliced into 1 inch lengths
  • 1 cup bok choy, chopped
  • 3 Tbsp oyster sauce
  • 3 Tbsp soy sauce

Directions:

  1. Heat the oil over high heat until a drip of water evaporates in the pan.
  2. Stir fry the beef until no longer pink, then remove to a plate.
  3. Dial the heat back to medium high and add in the veggies.  Stir fry for 3 minutes.
  4. Return the beef to the pan and stir fry for another 2 minutes or so.
  5. Add the soy sauce and oyster sauce.  Toss meat and veggies to coat
  6. Cook until sauce is thickened.
  7. Serve over brown rice.

Printable version.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 24, 2011 10:27 am

    This was awesome! I added broccoli and served it as a one dish meal. Loved the addition of the bok choy, though. I had never cooked with it. This is one of my favorite cooking blogs. I use your recipes a lot.

    • May 24, 2011 10:28 am

      Oh I’m so pleased! Yeah I discovered bok choy the first time I made chinese dumplings and fell in love with it. It’s the only cabbage I’ll eat!

Leave a Reply

